Kansas Association for Infant & Early Childhood Mental Kansas (KAIMH)

Alice Eberhart-Wright Visionary Award

Recognizing Excellence in the Field of Infant & Early Childhood Mental Health

The Alice Eberhart-Wright Award recognizes outstanding achievements and significant contributions in the field of infant and early childhood mental health. The Alice Eberhart-Wright award has been established in honor of Alice Eberhart-Wright, a pioneer in infant and early childhood mental health, who has been dedicated to supporting the social, emotional, and mental health of infants, young children and their families throughout her lifetime. The award is given to those who represent the mission of KAIMH and illustrate passion, creativity and best practices in their work supporting infant and early childhood mental health in Kansas.

It is KAIMH's mission to advance and promote the field of infant and early childhood mental health through professional recognition and connection, providing education opportunities, and promoting and advocating for public policies that advance the importance of social and emotional development of infants and young children.

To further its mission to advance and promote the field of infant and early childhood mental health in Kansas, KAIMH has established the Alice Eberhart-Wright Award as an annual award program to recognize the contributions of individuals whose initiative and achievement define outstanding performance in the field.

The Alice Eberhart-Wright Award will be presented each year at the KAIMH Annual Conference. The award recipient will be honored during the conference and registration to attend the conference will be paid in their honor.

Nominations for the Alice Eberhart-Wright Award will be accepted until approximately three months prior to the KAIMH Annual Conference as advertised on the Nomination Form. It is not necessary to be a member of KAIMH to submit a nomination. The nomination criteria must be met and nomination applications completed and submitted by the advertised deadline. All nominees and those submitting nominations should either live or work in the State of Kansas.

- 1) Who is eligible for the Alice Eberhart-Wright Award? Members of KAIMH
- 2) Nomination Criteria for the Alice Eberhart-Wright Award An individual that has made a significant difference in the infant and early childhood mental health field on behalf of young children and their caregivers in Kansas. The Alice Eberhart-Wright Award recognizes an individual who has met most of the following criteria: a) Contributed to the body of infant and early childhood mental health knowledge, b) Demonstrated compassion and dedication to helping meet the social and emotional needs of young children and their families, c) Promoted collaboration and service integration for young children and their families, d) Engaged in efforts that raise awareness about infant and early childhood mental health, e) Advocated on behalf of young children with mental health needs and their families, f) Developed and/or implemented innovative, successful methods of collaborating with those involved in supporting the social and emotional development of young children, g) Provided a lasting contribution to the infant and early childhood mental health field, h) Educated, trained, motivated, and/or mentored peers regarding infant and early childhood mental health.
- 3) How to nominate? Complete and submit nomination application by advertised deadline
- 4) Selection of Award Recipient A KAIMH Award Committee will be established to review nominations and select the individual who best exemplifies outstanding contributions to, and leadership in the field of infant and early childhood mental health. The award committee shall be comprised of the previous year's recipient, the KAIMH Board Vice President, the Executive Director or the KAIMH Board President, and 2 KAIMH Members appointed by the KAIMH Board President.
- 5) Award Recipient will be recognized and honored at a special event of the KAIMH Annual Conference and highlighted on KAIMH website and newsletter. Conference registration will be at no cost to the recipient of the award.